The Greyhound Trust Founders Award 2019

28 January 2020

The Greyhound Trust Founders Award for Services                                       towards Retired Racing Greyhounds 

The Greyhound Trust Founders Award celebrates deserving nominees for their services to retired racing greyhounds. The same dedication and passion shown by our founders is in every volunteer and staff member, who together, find loving homes for around 3500 greyhounds annually.

Our branches and volunteers were asked to nominate someone who goes above and beyond and has dedicated their time to the homing of retired racing greyhounds.

The nominations we had in were:

  • Lesley Rumney – Shropshire & Borders
  • Tracey Parberry – Hall Green
  • Sheena Pitt – Mersey & Cheshire
  • Janet Brass – Darlington
  • Clive Parberry – Hall Green
  • Janice Kennedy – West Scotland
  • Lisa Samson – Harlow
  • Katie Isaac – Dunton
  • Lauren Hirst – Hall Green
  • Chris Walker – Wolverhampton
  • Joanne Johnson – Mersey & Cheshire
  • Kathleen Armitage – West Yorkshire

Our shortlisted nominees equated to 3 this year:

  • Lesley Rumney
  • Kathleen Armitage
  • Katie Isaac

The shortlisted nominees were invited to attend the annual Greyhound Board of Great Britain awards, held in London on the 26th January 2020 where the winner would be announced.

The Greyhound Trust Founders Award 2019 went to Kath Armitage from Greyhound Trust West Yorkshire.

Kath’s commitment to Greyhound Trust stems back 20 years. Kath has helped home thousands of greyhounds in the West Yorkshire area and has built a branch & reputation to be proud of – respected by trainers, owners & homers alike.

We would like to thank all volunteers of the Greyhound Trust for their hard work they put into homing of retired racing greyhounds – each and every one of you are worthy winners, and the Trust would not be where it is today without you all.

Kath Armitage GBGB Awards

Back to top ↑